Testimonials

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

★★★★★

April 16, 2018

K. Lee

I worked closely with Lynne Bernabei and Michael Ellement to negotiate severance pay. Working with Lynne and Michael was a very positive experience. They were always responsive to my needs and preferences, keeping me informed at every step of the process. They provided excellent advice and negotiated the best possible settlement. Michael and Lynne treated me like a colleague and friend, not just a number or a case. I recommend them highly to anyone seeking an employment lawyer.

★★★★★

February 12, 2018

W. Hondo H.

My colleague and I were introduced to Bernabei & Kabat by a friend who previously won a high-profile case after being represented by Ms. Bernabei.


In the time we have been represented by Bernabei & Kabat we have experienced working with a truly professional staff. Their attorneys have an amazing knowledge of the law and of the legal process. The legal briefs they have written have surpassed anything I have seen during two decades of a career which required me constantly working with many other attorneys.

Lynne Bernabei is a warm and caring person who provides the highest level of legal representation. Peter Whelan shares those same attributes and has absolutely worked tirelessly on our behalf. Any question or concern we have have had has been addressed almost immediately. They are totally professional and polite to everyone in legal proceedings, yet have been absolutely tenacious on our behalf. Even after all my years of dealing with the legal process; it has been absolutely educational watching them work. I could never fully describe the appreciation I have for their efforts. The dedication and devotion they have shown on our behalf will never be forgotten.

During this arduous process we have been guided flawlessly through the entire legal system and have always received the very best legal advice. In the darkest hours of this case we have have been comforted with the knowledge that we are being represented by the top law firm we could have ever imagined.
The firm of Bernabei & Kabat has my total respect and very highest recommendation. It would greatly behoove anyone in a legal situation to have Bernabei & Kabat as their representatives. Speaking from experience; you will not be disappointed.

★★★★★

October 24, 2015

Norman F.

I was involved in a controversial, high profile tenure-denial case. A close friend, and colleague of Ralph Nader, recommended Lynne Bernabei. She was a godsend. The critical service she provided was the wisdom, based on her own extensive legal experience, on how to proceed regarding the big decisions: e.g., should I go for an out-of-court settlement, or pursue the case in the Courts. As I look back now after nearly a decade, I must say that her advice was invariably sound. When I opted for the settlement, Bernabei was also expert at defending my rights, but also cautioning me if my demands exceeded reasonable expectation. In sum, I placed my fate at a critical juncture in my life in her hands, and she came through for me.

★★★★★

October 23, 2015

Glenn A. Walp, P.h.D.

I had a major case involving "wrongful termination" at a United States Military Industrial Laboratory. I hired Ms. Bernabei to represent me in that case. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Bernabei took immediate charge of the situation, guiding me throughout the long an arduous process. Through her stellar communications skills and astute legal mind, she led me through many rough waters that included harassment by laboratory leaders and congressional hearings. Ultimately Bernabei spearheaded my negotiations, resulting in a fair and satisfying settled of nearly one million dollars, all within the spectrum of professionalism and expertise par excellence. Beyond being a true legal professional, she has a personality that calms you, making you feel comfortable and at ease. You trust her, and that trust is rewarded with excellent results. She will never mislead you, but will always tell you the truth notwithstanding it may not be what you want to hear. Her legal bedside mannerisms are always effectuated with logic and sincere kindness. Besides being a great attorney, she has become a very dear friend. I highly recommend - because of my personal experience - Ms. Bernabei for your lawyer needs.

★★★★★

October 22, 2015

Richard L.

I am an attorney, and I have retained Lynne Bernabei to represent me on several high profile legal matters with strong political overtones. In my judgment, Ms. Bernabei is one of the finest employee-side labor and employment attorneys in the country. She has handled every matter for me in an extremely professional manner. Her knowledge of the law is outstanding, and she is able to achieve positive results in seemingly intractable situations. Perhaps more importantly, she is strategic in her vision of how a case should unfold. She is polite in her dealings with opposing counsel, but comes out swinging when necessary.

As another reviewer noted, perhaps Ms. Bernabei's greatest attribute is her kindness and empathy for her clients. She knows how nasty people can be in employment disputes, and she will be there like a rock for you to lean on when necessary, i.e., she is extremely responsive.

There is a reason why Lynne Bernabei is so widely known and respected. In my dealings with her, she is simply a superb lawyer with a great human touch.

★★★★★

October 22, 2015

Steve D.

I hired Ms. Bernabei based on a referral sight unseen to help me with a wrongful termination that also involved some very sensitive national security issues. I was dreading the arduous bureaucratic process that I knew was going to take place. Having to deal with persons who could care a less and had no problem running up costs. Then the endless hours of time that it would take. However Ms. Bernabei was so professional and efficient, she made the procedure go very smoothly and we settled in record time. She has extensive experience in private practice which gives her a thorough understanding of the entire process. Ms. Ms. Bernabei is well-versed in all of the followup processes as well so that there is no delay in responding with the proper information quickly and efficiently. From your first conversation with Ms. Ms. Bernabei , you immediately become aware of her integrity and commitment, and moreover, the passion she exudes for her work. Any concern I raised was immediately addressed. Phone calls were answered in a timely manner. Information I requested about the process was promptly forwarded and addressed. There was never a complaint from Ms. Ms. Bernabei or a feeling that she was being put out and you worked for her. She was always courteous and attentive making me feel that my case was being handled professionally and expeditiously, and more it was. As far as I am concerned after dealing with attorneys my whole career and having to hire them from time to time Ms. Bernabei is the absolute best. Her genuine warmth and kindness makes it near impossible not to like her as a person and respect her as a professional. Ms. Bernabei is what all attorney's should be.

★★★★★

October 1, 2015

Anonymous

• Excellent lawyer

Bernabei came through at a moment of truth in my life. I am eternally in her debt. She also actually believes in what she's doing; It's not just about money.

★★★★★

June 29, 2015

Anonymous

• Employment Client

Lynne was referred to me by several other lawyers who respected her work and her aggressiveness in fighting for her clients' rights. Based on my personal experience, I have now recommended her many times myself. She understands employment law inside and out, and quickly grasps new and complex issues. She has very good instincts, gets to the heart of a matter and is able to tell a compelling story, all of which helps her communicate effectively in court filings, hearings, mediation, depositions, interviews and other situations. She is fearless and dedicated, and will often go the extra mile to give you as much advantage as possible. I would hire her again if the need arose.

★★★★★

May 3, 2015

Anonymous

• Highly recommended!

Pete Whelan worked to represent me in an employment discrimination case. I really enjoyed working with Pete and would recommend him highly.

Right off the bat, I was struck by Pete's demeanor and "bed side manner." I think he's incredibly well suited to employment law. Legal issues with an employer, I've learned, can get surprisingly personal and nasty. If you're someone who places your identity in your professional life, this is an incredibly painful experience. Pete never sugar coated, but managed to take some of the "sting" out of the worst moments in my case.

I also appreciated how well Pete communicated with me during a long, drawn-out negotiation. He explained things clearly and I left every call feeling like I had been empowered to make an informed decision.

As an employee going up against an employer, I felt like David going up against Goliath. Working with Pete helped me level the playing field and led to a fair outcome.

★★★★★

March 7, 2015

Allan

Lynne and her team listened to my case, lead me through the process and made me part of the team. This was an employment dispute action where she knew more than the other team by far, knew case law better, and was much more responsive than can be said of the other team. Lynne and her team always asked if I had any input during our conversations together. Throughout the preparation and time of negotiation, Lynne and her team were always professional. They always considered all the options and thinking of my wellbeing. I will, unequivically and without reservation recommend Lynne and her team. If a settlement prior to trial was not possible, I had the utmost confidence that Lynne and her team would prevail.

★★★★★

March 5, 2015

Steve Doran

Lynne is an experienced attorney who is committed to helping people with their legal issues. She is more than an attorney as she takes a personal interest in not only the case but her clients well being. She uses her experience in the courtroom to advocate for his clients' rights in negotiations and in depositions. I have never used any attorney in my career who is as dedicated as Lynne or who spends so much one-on-one time with their clients so they understand every detail of the case. Lynn works closely with each of her clients to ensure that they achieve the desired goals and are equipped with the legal advice they need to make the best decisions possible as the case progresses. Without reservation I can say that there is not finer attorney you will ever work with.

★★★★★

November 5, 2014

Anonymous

• Brilliant, Driven, Thoughtful -- Honestly, the Best Attorney

Lynne represented me in a civil suit related to an assault I experienced. Her commitment to the pursuit of justice, and her skillful command of the law made me feel confident that my case was in excellent hands. Everyone in her office was extremely responsive to my calls and emails, very helpful in answering my questions, including those I deemed "dumb" questions, talking me through every step of the process. I felt the whole legal team had my back in what was a very emotional and trying case. Lynne went above and beyond my expectations of what was possible in the settlement to ensure both financial compensation and public apology. I'd recommend Lynne with five stars.

★★★★★

October 12, 2014

Anonymous

  • I owe her my career

The day that I met Lynne Bernabei, my world was falling apart due to an unimaginable situation that several lawyers wouldn't touch. Not only did she believe what I told her (I wasn't sure the others did), but she assured me that I wasn't alone in my experience and that what happened to me was, in fact, completely illegal. From that day until the very end, three years later, Lynne or her associates were always available to me, answered all my questions and made every effort to protect me. She fought hard, met every challenge and, to my delight, exposed a pattern of illegal actions that helped others. I've already referred others to her and will continue to do so.

★★★★★

October 5, 2014

T McCormick

  • The MOST amazing lawyer, worth every penny

Lynne Bernabei is a gift from a higher power. I tell my family, friends, and friends of friends that Lynn is the best attorney one could ask for. I had the pleasure and honor of getting a referral for Lynn from a work colleague (who I greatly admire) and I had no idea how lucky I was.

If one looks at a legal issue as a boxing match, Lynn is the heavy weight champion. First, Lynn has the CV to scare any other side in a lawsuit (graduated magna cum laude from Harvard University with a law degree from Harvard cum laude). Second, she breathes fire for work place justice. Third, she's won several high profile cases and many, many others. Fourth, she's been voted as one of the best attorneys in the country by various news outlets and associations and been "Sixty Minutes," the "Today" show, Court TV, CBS, NBC, ABC, CNN, FOX, and MSNBC and quoted by the New York Times etc.

After hiring her and seeing her thought process, I instantly felt reassured that the other side had no chance getting by Lynn. What was especially notable was that Lynn has a great knack for putting the opposing side in the defensive on repeated basis. With every fact from my side and every shenanigan on the other side, Lynn had a way of sending off a letter with the truth that made me feel like she was giving the opponent another hard punch to their kidney. I am not a fighting person by nature but in a legal issue, it is a high stakes game and you have to win against your opponent. Lynn, with her natural grace, intellect, rationality, and smarts, ended up crushing my opponent. No one wants to go through a legal issue but most people want to win fairly and honestly (and if the opposing side is a real jerk), one wants to win without mercy. Lynn did that for me.
In addition, I learned a lot about the legal process. Overall I felt well represented (lots of time and attention) and immensely proud of my legal representation. Most importantly, I felt that by nature Lynn fights the good fight. No one wants drama or legal attention but if you are forced to defend yourself, Lynn is the attorney you need and want. I felt that no matter what happened with this case and my entire family, friends, and country found out about the legal dispute I felt that with Lynn's defensive reasoning and sincerity, there was everything to fight about and my fight was an honest one that deserved to be attended.
Lastly, you should look at fighting a legal issue and the return on investment (ROI). Lynn returned my investment 1 to 3. Great ROI!

To sum it up, Lynn is an amazing attorney. She and her team felt like friends at the end--almost family. I would pay every penny needed if I needed her again. Her representation is a tremendous gift and it is something I will never take for granted!

★★★★★

September 28, 2014

Anonymous

  • Outstanding Representation

I retained Lynne Bernabei for my very difficult federal employment law matter, which involved a host of claims and an extremely short timetable. I am also an attorney (in another field), and due to the complexity of my case, I knew I needed a very experienced lawyer to represent me. I looked into about 5-6 attorneys in the area that specialize in employment, looking for the best, and found Lynne. Lynne's credentials are outstanding, and when I met her I felt confident that my case would be successful if I retained her. That proved to be true. Lynne represented me throughout a tough mediation and vigorously negotiated an extremely favorable settlement for me. Because of certain factors in my case, it was extremely important that my case be wrapped up quickly. I could not be happier with the results (and please trust me when I tell you I am not always easy to please). Also, I think it is important that others know that Lynne's whole team is excellent, especially Pete Whelan (he is incredibly sharp and the quality of his work speaks for itself).

★★★★★

September 23, 2014

Anonymous

  • Lynne Bernabei -- Outstanding Employee Side Labor Lawyer

I have used Lynne Bernabei over many years in various employment-related legal disputes. One matter she handled for me was a very complex employment issue with a lot riding on it, including substantial pension rights. Ms. Bernabei handled the matter in an incredibly astute manner and it was favorably resolved. In my judgment (and I am an attorney), Ms. Bernabei is one of DC's finest labor and employment lawyers, representing employees. If you are in a real jam with your employer, she is the person to see. My personal experience is that opposing counsel hold her in very high regard. I would strongly recommend Ms. Bernabei to anyone involved in an employment dispute.

★★★★★

June 20, 2014

Anonymous

  • The firm to go to when you need to get the job DONE

I retained Bernabei & Wachtel over a year ago in a federal civil rights matter after I called the "Who's Who" of federal defense attorneys, and repeatedly received a "Oh we don't handle THOSE kinda cases" or a "I dunno if we're the right firm/comfortable handing those types of federal cases" replies. And I'm glad that happened...cuz otherwise I mighta ended up retaining the wrong (inexperienced) attorney.


Lynne of Bernabei & Wachtel was always available and responsive throughout the progression of my case, and has been & continues to be very helpful with very important advice and direction on the correct steps to take along the way.


With the decades of experience & expert advice provided by Lynne of Bernabei & Wachtel, I can - for the first time - say that things have and continue to get better for me.
So if you want high profile attorneys who are all show and no go, look elsewhere. If you want the REAL DEAL, who will take on the toughest of cases that others won't, and will take care of whatever needs to get done, look no further than Bernabei & Wachtel.

★★★★★

April 25, 2012

Anonymous

They were great to work with.